Vacheron Constantin - FIFTYSIX Tourbillon 001

Vacheron Constantin launches the ​FIFTYSIX® Tourbillon and announces a new Partnership

The decade of the 1950s was a crucial period for music – and it was also a golden age for watchmaking. Cliff Richards produced his first songs in the notorious Abbey Road Studios as did the Beatles little later. Vacheron Constantin introduced their first automatic watch (Ref. 6073) in 1956 which today lives on in the Fiftysix® collection.

At the beginning of this year, the Maison already introduced three new types – now Vacheron Constantin launches a tourbillon complication for the first time within its Fiftysix® collection. And to pay homage to the golden age of the 1950s, Vacheron Constantin also announced an exclusive partnership with the Abbey Road Studios.

With the Reference 6073 from 1956 Vacheron Constantin presented something completely new – their first automatic watch at a time where manual watches were more common. It was also a perfect time for round and golden watches – whereas the case shape at that time was rather a tonneau shape with a round bezel, in todays collection even more then in the past. Now, with the Fiftysix® Tourbillon Vacheron Constantin has created something new again – their first Tourbillon within this historical collection. And on top, the caliber 2160 is equipped with a peripheral rotating rotor.

Thus the rotor (made of 22-karat gold) offers an almost unhindered view onto the movement, which is just 6mm thin. Just like all models from the Fiftysix® collection, it’s an automatic movement developed and manufactured by Vacheron Constantin. The two-tone opaline-sunburst dial and the case with its crown remain in the usual style of the collection. As in previous models, the four lugs each represent a branch of the Maltese cross. A homage to the brand logo of Vacheron Constantin, which has also been placed artfully on the Tourbillons’ bridge.

Vacheron Constantin has for a long time maintained a close relationship to arts, especially to music. Watchmaking and music are a craft that require a lot of skills that fascinate humans equally. The British songwriter Benjamin Clementine has given a private concert in the Abbey Road Studios in occasion of the partnership. Clementine will become the new testimonial for the brand.

The Fiftysix® collection is very much alive and an important pillar in the portfolio of Vacheron Constantin. The Fiftysix® Tourbillon will be available from April 2019 exclusively in Vacheron Constantin boutiques at a price of 118.000,- Euro.

Gallery

Vacheron Constantin - FIFTYSIX Tourbillon 001

Vacheron Constantin lanciert den FIFTYSIX® Tourbillon und verkündet eine neue Partnerschaft

Die 1950er Jahre waren eine Blütezeit des musikalischen Schaffens, sie waren auch ein goldenes Zeitalter der Uhrmacherkunst. Cliff Richards produzierte seine ersten Hits in den weltberühmten Abbey Road Studios, später dann auch die Beatles. Vacheron Constantin stellte 1956 zum ersten Mal eine Automatikuhr (Ref. 6073) vor, die heute in der Fiftysix® Kollektion weiterlebt.

Anfang des Jahres stellte die Maison hierzu bereits drei neue Modelle vor – jetzt lanciert Vacheron Constantin zum ersten Mal einen Tourbillon innerhalb der Fiftysix® Kollektion. Und um das goldene Zeitalter der 1950er Jahre angemessen zu huldigen, gibt Vacheron Constantin zeitgleich eine exklusive Partnerschaft mit den Abbey Road Studios bekannt.

Mit der Referenz 6073 präsentierte Vacheron Constantin 1956 einerseits etwas ganz Neues, ihre erste Automatikuhr. Und das zu einer Zeit, in der der Handaufzug gängig war. Zum anderen trafen sie einen Nerv für runde und goldene Uhren – wobei das damalige Modell genau genommen eher eine Tonneauform mit runder Lünette aufwies, in der aktuellen Kollektion sogar noch mehr als damals. Mit dem Fiftysix® Tourbillon hat Vacheron Constantin wieder etwas Neues geschaffen – ihren ersten Tourbillon innerhalb dieser historischen Kollektion. Darüber hinaus besitzt das Werk eine peripher gelagerte Schwungmasse.

Somit bietet der Rotor aus 22-karätigem Gold durch den transparenten Gehäuseboden eine fast uneingeschränkte Sicht auf das gerade einmal 6mm flache Werk (2160). Es ist – wie alle Modelle aus der Fiftysix® Kollektion – ein Automatikwerk, das von Vacheron Constantin entwickelt und hergestellt wurde. Sowohl das zweifarbige Sonnenschliff-Zifferblatt als auch das Gehäuse mit der Krone ist im gewohnten Stil der Kollektion gehalten. Auch hier symbolisieren die Bandanstöße die Arme des Malteserkreuzes. Eine Hommage an das Firmenlogo von Vacheron Constantin, das sich auch im Tourbillon widerfindet, auf dessen Brücke es raffiniert angebracht wurde.

Vacheron Constantin pflegt schon lange eine enge Beziehung zu künstlerischem Schaffen, insbesondere zur Musik. So wie die Uhrmacherei ist auch die Musik ein Handwerk, in der viel Geschick erforderlich ist, das die Menschen gleichermaßen begeistert. Zum Launch der neuen Uhr hat der britische Sänger Benjamin Clementine in den Abbey Road Studios ein Privatkonzert gegeben. Clementine wird nämlich das neue Kampagnengesicht der Marke werden.

Die Fiftysix® Kollektion ist quicklebendig und eine wichtige Säule im Portfolio von Vacheron Constantin. Der Fiftysix® Tourbillon wird ab April 2019 exklusiv in den Vacheron Constantin Boutiquen erhältlich sein, für eine stolze Summe von 118.000,- Euro

Galerie