Richard Mille - Nuerburgring Classics Photo by Didier Gourdon 001

A Sportscar for your wrist - Richard Mille RM 11-03 Flyback Chronograph McLaren

If there is one certain field that always strives for new material to make their products lighter (and hence more performing) then it is that of racing cars. And if there is a watch brand that strives for these same goals then it must be Richard Mille. So it is quite obvious that both fields meet to join their individual expertise – extremely tough but light materials from the racing car industry and reliable and precise timekeeping pieces.

A few months back Richard Mille has introduced their first timepiece in cooperation with McLaren Automotive (don't get it mixed up with McLaren Formula 1). The McLaren Automotive are made for the public street - just like Richard Mille wants to make performing watches for everyday live. For us there was no better place to get to know the RM 11-03 Flyback Chronograph McLaren then at the ‘Nürburgring Classics Richard Mille’ race, which took place end of June.

The ‘Nürburgring Classics’ first started in 2017 with Richard Mille as main partner and the aim to become a continues venue taking place once a year. Over 3 days, more then 700 vintage car enthusiasts took part in 18 races. Guests had the chance to co-drive the McLaren 720S and 570S. We had the privilege to take them out a few laps ourselves on the ‘Nürburgring Grand Prix’ track. However, focus of this venue is clearly on vintage cars. So we spotted a Marcos 1800 GT, a Lotus Elan R26, a Ford GT40, a Porsche 356 A Coupe from 1959, a Shelby Cobra 427 from 1975 amongst many other beautiful and well preserved cars.

Great products need great designers. So McLaren chief designer Rob Melville and Richard Mille engineer Fabrice Namura have stuck their heads together and some time later the RM 11-03 Flyback Chronograph McLaren was born. The inspiration of course very much derives from the McClaren 720S sportscar. But also mixed with some Richard Mille signatures. For example, the carbon TPT fibre case is mixed with quartz TPT, which is an extremely resistant and light material due to its multiple layers of parallel filaments (fibre). Carbon is being used in the sports cars too, and the orange (papaya orange as Bruce McClaren used to call it) colouring expresses the McLaren traditional colour code.

The chronograph pushers are made from titanium and designed in the shape of the headlights of the McLaren 720S. Not less impressive is the crown, which is a mini replica of a McLaren lightweight wheel. The large hands on the skeletonized dial with luminous paint improve the readability. It gets quite busy on this bright colourful dial. 60-minutes countdown timer at 9 o’clock, 12-hour totalizer at 6 o’clock, seconds countdown timer at 3 o’clock, a tachymeter scale in green and an annual calendar with oversize date indication.

The RM 11-03 houses the RMAC3 calibre with a flyback chronograph and a 55-hour power reserve. To reach the desired lightweight construction most of the movement parts are also made from ceramic or grade 5 titanium and then covered with PVD to improve its stiffness. Some parts are even made in white gold (ribs and weight segment). This is a challenge as the plates and bridges have to withstand quite some pressure. But it reflects the ambitious work from sportscar manufacturing.

The movement has a memory system that adapts to the owner’s lifestyle. You can simply move some screws on the rotor (visible on the caseback), which will change the way the rotor will load. This way the rotor’s inertia is modified to either speed up the winding process in the case of leisurely arm movements, or slow it down during sporting activities.

www.richardmille.com

Gallery

Richard Mille - Nuerburgring Classics Photo by Didier Gourdon 001

Ein Sportwagen für's Handgelenk - Richard Mille RM 11-03 Flyback Chronograph McLaren

Wenn es ein bestimmtes Feld gibt, in dem man stets nach neuen Materialien sucht um seine Produkte leichter (und damit auch effizienter) zu machen, dann ist es das des Motorrennsports. Und wenn es eine Uhrenmarke gibt, die dieselben Ziele anstrebt, dann muss es Richard Mille sein. Daher ist es nicht ungewöhnlich, dass beide Bereiche miteinander verschmelzen und jeder seine individuelle Expertise einbringt –  sehr widerstandsfähige aber leichte Materialien aus dem Rennsport und verlässliche, präzise Zeitmessgeräte.

Vor ein paar Monaten hat Richard Mille seine erste Kooperation mit McLaren Automotive (nicht zu verwechseln mit McLaren Formula 1) bekanntgegeben. Die Sportwagen der McLaren Automotive haben eine Straßenzulassung – so wie auch Richard Mille leistungsstarke Uhren für den alltäglichen Gebrauch macht. Für uns gab es keine bessere Gelegenheit den RM 11-03 Flyback Chronograph McLaren zu begutachten, als beim ‚Nürburgring Classics Richard Mille’ Rennen, das Ende Juni stattfand.

Die ‚Nürburgring Classics’ startete erstmals 2017 mit Richard Mille als Hauptsponsor und dem Ziel, ein jährliches Event daraus zu machen. Über 3 Tage hinweg haben mehr als 700 Oldtimer Fans an 18 Rennen teilgenommen. Die Gäste bekamen die Gelegenheit als Beifahrer den McLaren 720S und 570S zu erleben. Wir hatten das große Privileg, den 720S für ein paar Runden auf der ‚Nürburgring Grand Prix’ Strecke selber fahren zu dürfen. Der Fokus lag aber ganz klar auf den Oldtimern. Wir sichteten einige spannende Autos wie den Marcos 1800 GT, einen Lotus Elan R26, einen Ford GT40, einen Porsche 356 A Coupe von 1959, einen Shelby Cobra 427 von 1975 sowie viele weitere wunderschöne, gut erhaltene Autos.

Besondere Produkte brauchen besondere Designer. Also haben McLaren Chefdesigner Rob Melville und Richard Mille Ingenieur Fabrice Namura ihre Köpfe zusammengesteckt und kurze Zeit später war der RM 11-03 Flyback Chronograph McLaren geboren. Die Inspiration dazu ist natürlich stark an den Merkmalen der McLaren 720S Sportwagen angelehnt, die sich aber mit einigen Richard Mille Charakteristiken vermischen. Zum Beispiel ist das Karbon TPT Faser Gehäuse mit Quarz TPT gemischt, welches aufgrund seiner vielen Lagen parallel angeordneter Fasern ein äußerst robustes und leichtes Material ist. Karbon wird auch in der Herstellung für Sportwagen verwendet – die orangenen (Papaya Orange wie Bruce McClaren es eins nannte) Farbakzente stehen für den traditionellen Farbcode von McLaren.

Die Chronographen Drücker sind aus Titan und haben die Form der charakteristischen Scheinwerfer des 720S. Nicht weniger beeindruckend ist die Krone, die eine Miniatur-Nachbildung der McLaren Leichtmetallfelgen ist. Die großen Zeiger auf dem skelettierten Zifferblatt sind mit Leuchtmasse versehen und sorgen für eine bessere Ablesbarkeit. Es ist einiges los auf dem bunten Zifferblatt. 60-Minuten-Countdown bei 9 Uhr, 12-Stunden Totalisator bei 6 Uhr, Sekunden Countdown bei 3 Uhr, eine Tachymeter Skala in grün und ein Jahreskalender mit übergroßer Datumsanzeige.

Die RM 11-03 besitzt das RMAC3 Kaliber mit Flyback Chronograph und einer 55-Stunden Gangreserve. Um die gewünschte Leichtbaukonstruktion zu erreichen, sind die meisten Werksteile ebenfalls aus Keramik oder Grad5 Titan gefertigt und zusätzlich mit PVD beschichtet, um sie robuster zu machen. Manche Werksteile sind sogar aus Weißgold. Es ist eine wahre Herausforderung, da Platinen und Brücken einem extremen Druck ausgesetzt sind. Aber es unterstreicht noch einmal die ambitionierte Arbeit aus der Herstellung der Sportswagen.

Das Werk besitzt eine Art künstliches Gedächtnis, das sich an den Lebensstil seines Trägers anpasst. Man muss lediglich ein paar Schräubchen am Rotor drehen (sichtbar auf der Gehäuserückseite), was sich dann auf die Trägheit des Rotors auswirkt und den Aufzugsmechanismus bei wenig Armbewegung entweder beschleunigt, oder bei sportlicher Betätigung verlangsamt.

www.richardmille.com

Galerie