Montblanc - 1858 Geosphere Ref 119909 005

SIHH 2019: Montblanc 1858 Collection - Novelties

In 2018 Montblanc celebrated the 160thanniversary of the traditional watch manufacture Minerva, which since 2007 belongs to the Hamburg based brand that produces its timepieces in Le Locle and Villeret in the Swiss Jura.

Montblanc started an adventurous journey of their '1858' collection last year, a collection that is inspired by professional watches from the 1920s and 1930s with high ambitions – because the journey takes us right up to the summits of the earths highest mountains where professional mountaineers and the military relied on their tough and precise timepieces during their expeditions. The previous collection was characterized by earthy tones and bronze – smoky, champagne-coloured dials, beige luminescent numerals and cognac-coloured leather straps.

In 2019, the new watches of the 1858 collection don’t take us so far up again and stay in the green woods instead. At the SIHH watch fair 2019 Montblanc introduces five new 1858 editions: two new 1858 Automatic models, one new 1858 Chronograph, one new 1858 Geosphere and a new complication, the 1858 Split Second Chronograph.

Khaki green replaces the earthy tones and becomes the new colour code for dials and straps as well as bronze takes more control in terms of case material. Whereas most of the previous models were equipped with stainless steel cases and subtle bronze elements, this years novelties appear with full bronze (cases and bezel). Only the case back is crafted from titanium featuring a bronze colour coating to avoid skin allergies. Just one of the new Automatic versions still comes with a stainless steel case. The polished and satin-finished bronze harmonizes very well with the khaki colour code that has been selected for these novelties.

Montblanc also decided to increase the use of their NATO straps for this new 1858 collection. As with textile straps you always need to be careful that they appear valuable enough and meet the requirements of high-quality mechanical watches. Whereas the NATO straps by Montblanc really do satisfy in look and feel. Montblanc relies on the experience of a French weaving manufacture that has been handcrafting straps for over 150 years.

The two new 1858 Automatic models come in a choice of a full-bronze 40mm case (Ref. 118222) and a NATO strap and dial in khaki-green, or a stainless steel case (Ref. 119907) with a strap in khaki-green calfskin ‘Nubuk’ leather and black dial.

The new 1858 Chronograph (Ref. 119908) comes in a 42mm full bronze case with khaki-green dial and NATO strap. Also the 1858 Geosphere (Ref. 119909) with its two rotating half-globes comes all in khaki.

The new 1858 Split Second Chronograph (Ref. 119910) is an addition to the collection and a tribute to Minervas precise chronographs of the  1920s and 1930s. It is equipped with an in-house movement calibre MB M16.31 that enables the chronograph function to be adjusted by one pusher (Monopusher) only. The second reference time (Split Second) is taken by a pusher inside the crown. Staying true to the new style, it appears with a bronze case, however makes an exception on its strap that is made in black alligator leather and suits the black dial.

Good news for all collectors – the novelties from this years 1858 collection are each limited to, of course, 1858 pieces. The 1858 Split Second Chronograph however as an exception is only limited to 100 pieces. 

Gallery

Montblanc - 1858 Geosphere Ref 119909 005

SIHH 2019: Montblanc 1858 Kollektion - Neuheiten

Im letzten Jahr feierte Montblanc das 160-jährige Jubiläum der traditionellen Uhrenmanufaktur Minerva, die seit 2007 zum Hamburger Unternehmen gehört und ihre Zeitmesser in Le Locle und Villeret im Schweizer Jura produziert.

2018 startete Montblanc eine abenteuerliche Reise mit der Kollektion '1858', die sich von den Minerva Profi-Uhren aus den 1920er und 1930er Jahren inspirieren lässt und hoch hinaus will. Denn die Reise führte uns direkt auf die Gipfel der höchsten Berge dieser Welt, wo Profi-Bergsteiger und das Militär während ihrer Forschungsreisen auf die robusten und präzisen Zeitmesser von Minerva vertrauten. Die erste Kollektion war geprägt von Erdtönen und Bronze – rauchige, champagnerfarbene Zifferblätter, beige Leuchtzeiger und cognacfarbene Lederbänder. 

In diesem Jahr führt uns die Kollektion nicht ganz so hoch hinaus und bleibt in den Wäldern, wo die Natur noch grünt. Auf der SIHH Uhrenmesse 2019 zeigt Montblanc fünf neue '1858' Editionen: zwei neue 1858 Automatic Modelle, einen neuen 1858 Chronograph, eine neue 1858 Geosphere sowie eine neue Komplikation im Sortiment, den 1858 Split Second Chronograph.

Der Khakigrüne Farbton ersetzt in dieser Kollektion die Erdtöne und dominiert Zifferblätter und Armbänder. Darüber hinaus kommt Bronze noch stärker zum Einsatz. Wohingegen die Vorgängermodelle größtenteils mit Edelstahlgehäusen ausgestattet waren und Bronze nur dezent eingesetzt wurde, besitzen die diesjährigen Neuheiten allesamt ein Gehäuse und eine Lünette aus Bronze. Nur der Gehäuseboden ist aus Titan mit Bronzefarbe überzogen, um Hautallergien zu vermeiden. Lediglich bei der Automatik Variante ist auch ein Modell mit einem Edelstahlgehäuse erhältlich. Das polierte und satinierte Bronze harmoniert äußerst gut mit dem gewählten Khaki-Ton.

In der neuen 1858 Kollektion kommen auch die NATO Bänder von Montblanc verstärkt zum Einsatz. Bei Textilbändern läuft man oft Gefahr, dass sie weder hochwertig aussehen, noch den hohen Ansprüchen einer mechanischen Uhr gerecht werden. Die NATO Bänder von Montblanc hingegen überzeugen in Optik und Haptik. Dafür hat Montblanc eigens eine traditionelle Webmanufaktur in Frankreich beauftragt, die sich seit 150 Jahren mit diesem Handwerk beschäftigt. 

Die beiden neuen Automatik Modelle sind wahlweise mit einem 40-mm Gehäuse in Bronze (Ref. 118222) und einem NATO Armband und Zifferblatt in Khakigrün erhältlich, oder einem Edelstahlgehäuse (Ref. 119907) mit einem khakigrünen Armband aus Kalbsnubukleder und einem schwarzen Zifferblatt.

Der neue 1858 Chronograph (Ref. 119908) besitzt ein 42-mm Gehäuse in Bronze mit khakigrünem Zifferblatt und NATO Armband. Auch die 1858 Geosphere (Ref. 119909) mit ihren beiden rotierenden Welthalbkugeln erscheint von 'Kopf bis Fuß' in Khaki.

Neu im Sortiment ist der 1858 Split Second Chronograph (Ref. 119910), eine Hommage an die präzisen Minerva Chronographen der 1920er und 1930er Jahre. Er ist mit einem manufaktureigenen Kaliber MB M16.31 ausgestattet, mit dem sich der Chronograph über einen einzigen Drücker (Monopusher) bedienen lässt. Die zweite Referenzzeit (Split Second) wird über einen Drücker in der Krone entnommen. Sie erscheint ganz dem neuen Stil getreu mit einem Bronze Gehäuse, macht aber beim Armband eine Ausnahme, das mit einem schwarzen Krokolederband passend zum schwarzen Zifferblatt gewählt wurde.

Sammler werden sich freuen – alle Neuheiten der 1858 Kollektion sind jeweils limitiert auf, wie könnte es anders sein, 1858 Stück. Der 1858 Split Second Chronograph ist jedoch als Ausnahme auf nur 100 Stück limitiert.

Galerie