Breitling - Navitimer Ref 806 From 1959 Reedition 006

Baselworld 2019: Breitling Navitimer Ref. 806 1959 Re-Edition

After the recently launched ‘Premier’, Georges Kern continues to hold on to the rich heritage of BREITLING strongly. So strong, that now a 60-year-old watch was re-editioned almost unchanged. You don’t get to see that very often in the watch industry, in which brands indeed regularly introduce new interpretations of older models, but rarely present an almost (optical) identical re-edition. 

The Navitimer was the bestselling piece in the 1950s and 1960s at BREITLING – reference 806 from 1959 was an especially popular model out of the many executions that were presented between 1952 and today. It had a full black dial with tone-on-tone subdials and a BREITLING inscription in capital letters. The models for the European market had an unsigned winged logo without the anchor.

The 60th anniversary offers an ideal opportunity to bring the bestseller of the past to a new success with the Navitimer Ref. 806 1959 Re-Edition piece. The design elements are so detailed that they hardly differ from the original. The 40,9 mm stainless steel case was specifically developed for this re-edition. The rotating bezel is made of 94 beads, just like the 1959 model. The number of beads around the bezel was not always constant over the production period of the ref. 806, and varied between 125 and 93 pieces.

Although BREITLING announced a straight course in terms of logo design, many fans of the brand will be pleased about the return of the vintage-wings. Also, the acrylic glass of the new Navitimer Ref. 806 1959 Re-Edition is truly vintage considering, that you mainly get sapphire glass these days looking at this price range. The case-back is snapped shut and engraved with the individual numbering. The luminous material of the Super-LumiNova-coating was attached by hand and the colour adjusted accordingly. We love the execution of the masculine black vintage leather strap, it perfectly echoes the nostalgia of the 60 years old pilot watch and literally begs for being worn.

The true modifications, however, remain concealed. Firstly, the water resistance has been increased to 3 bars (30 meters), and secondly, the re-edition runs with the COSC-certified Breitling Manufacture Calibre B09 that still wants to be manually wound. The calibre B09 has a sophisticated columns-wheel mechanism with a vertical clutch that leads to a much more comfortable operating of the watch. The Navitimer Ref. 806 1959 Re-Edition is limited to 1959 pieces that will be available from April / Mai 2019. If you go away empty-handed, the brand has already announced more re-editions to come. Price: 7.700 Euro.

Gallery

Breitling - Navitimer Ref 806 From 1959 Reedition 006

Baselworld 2019: Breitling Navitimer Ref. 806 1959 Re-Edition

Nach der kürzlich lancierten ‚Premier‘ hält Georges Kern mit BREITLING weiter an dem reichhaltigen Erbe der Marke fest. So fest, dass nun ein 60 Jahre altes Modell fast unverändert neu aufgelegt wurde. So etwas sieht man in der Uhrenbranche nicht oft, in der es natürlich ständig  Weiterführungen von älteren Modellen gibt, aber selten eine fast exakte (optische) Neuauflage.

Die Navitimer war in den 1950 & 1960er Jahren der Verkaufsschlager bei BREITLING – die Referenz 806 von 1959 war ein besonders beliebtes Modell der vielen verschiedenen Ausführungen, die zwischen 1952 und heute erschienen sind. Sie hatte ein komplett schwarzes Zifferblatt mit farblich abgestimmten Hilfszifferblättern und einen BREITLING Schriftzug in Großbuchstaben. Die Modelle für den europäischen Markt besaßen ein unsigniertes Flügellogo ohne Anker.

Das 60-jährige Jubiläum ist natürlich die ideale Gelegenheit, den Verkaufsschlager von damals auf einen neuen Erfolgskurs zu bringen. Und den soll nun die neue Navitimer Ref. 806 1959 Re-Edition einschlagen. Die Design-Elemente sind so detailgetreu, dass sie sich kaum vom Original unterscheiden. Das 40,9 mm große Edelstahlgehäuse wurde extra für die Re-Edition entwickelt. Die Perlenlünette hat 94 Perlen, analog zum Modell von 1959. Die Anzahl der Perlen war im Produktionszeitraum der Ref. 806 nicht immer konstant und variierte zwischen 125 und 93 Stück.

Obwohl BREITLING vor einem Jahr noch eine klare Linie beim Design des Logos angekündigt hat, werden sich nun viele Fans der Marke über die Rückkehr der vintage-wings freuen. Vintage ist auch das authentische Acrylglas der neuen Navitimer Ref. 806 1959 Re-Edition, denn heutzutage sieht man eigentlich nur noch Saphirglas in dieser Preisklasse. Der Gehäuseboden ist verriegelt und mit der jeweiligen Nummerierung graviert. Die Leuchtmasse der Super-LumiNova-Beschichtung wurde per Hand aufgetragen und farblich den früheren Uhren angepasst. Wir lieben die Umsetzung des maskulinen, schwarzen Lederbands im Vintage-Stil, es verkörpert perfekt die Nostalgie der 60 Jahre alten Fliegeruhr und schreit förmlich danach, getragen zu werden.  

Die eigentlichen Veränderungen zum Original bleiben optisch verborgen. Zum einen ist es die Wasserdichtigkeit, die auf 3 Bar (30 Meter) ausgeweitet wurde, und zum anderen läuft in der Re-Edition das COSC-zertifizierte Breitling-Manufakturkaliber B09, das ganz originalgetreu weiterhin von Hand aufgezogen werden möchte. Das Kaliber B09 hat einen aufwendigen Schaltradmechanismus, was sich positiv auf die Bedienerfreundlichkeit auswirkt. Die Navitimer Ref. 806 1959 Re-Edition ist auf 1959 Stück limitiert, die ab April / Mai 2019 erhältlich sein werden. Wer leer ausgeht, für den hat der Brand bereits weitere historische Neuauflagen angekündigt. Preis: 7.700 Euro

Galerie